My perspective on the ESHL

Discussion in 'E-Sports Hockey League' started by Kubz91, Oct 10, 2017.

1. Kubz91

Kubz91 Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +40 / 10 / -1
    Hello everyone. For those of you who don't know me, I have been playing 6s since 2009, and a part of VHL / LG on and off since 2010. I'm currently a Professional League of Legends Coach who has spent the past 5 years of my life working in the esports scene and have seen it develop from the grass roots to the global phenomenon it is today. The reason I feel it is necessary to point this out is I have sat back and watched the setup of the ESHL and feel that my perspective is not only something valuable due to my years of experience in esports, but also because I very much enjoy the NHL Series and playing 6s in general. In this post I am going to outline my thoughts on the ESHL, my suggestions and changes, and leave the comment section to you guys for additional suggestions and perspective. Our goal as a community should be to ensure the ESHL is run optimally for everyone and I'm hopeful that this thread will be the catalyst for this.

Initial Thoughts

The idea of the ESHL is fantastic. There has not been a real incentive to play club 6s since 2010 and I feel that Tris and LG are taking initiative many have been asking for by setting up this sort of league. It provides all of us a chance to play competitive 6s with a club for a prize pool. When looking at how the league has been setup, I am a huge fan of multiple divisions and a Promotion / Relegation system. I think this is extremely important for a mostly self-funded league with no major sponsorship. That being said, I am not a huge fan of several things, most notably the selection process for this season as I feel the competitive integrity of the ESHL is immediately questionable at best.

Issue #1: Selection Process